pwmflicker

Published by CircadianShield. We make one of the apps listed here, and it is labelled.

What each screen app says it touches

15 Mac and Windows apps, checked against four things about screen light. A cell lights up only where the app's maker says so, in its own words.

What is PWM flicker?

Many screens dim by switching the backlight on and off very fast. This is pulse width modulation, or PWM. At a high setting the light is on for most of each cycle. Turn brightness down and each off period gets longer. The switching is too fast to see as blinking. Some people report eye strain or headaches at low brightness settings. Two other things come up with it: dithering, a fast shimmer of pixel colors used to fake extra shades, and software dimming, which darkens the picture while the backlight stays up. More on PWM flicker

Backlight switching at high and low brightness: at low brightness each off period is longer. Brighter setting: short off time Dimmer setting: long off time off time

Lit the maker says the app acts on it, quoted says soOutlined mentioned, not claimed mentionsBlank not stated

AppTap a column to sort by it. Tap a row for full quotes and sources.
BetterDisplayMacUS$21.99 once
PWMSays soreduce visible display flickering from PWM
DitheringSays soflickering from PWM and temporal dithering
BrightnessSays sosoftware controls, DDC, slidersHardware and software
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flickerSays the app acts on this

“Help reduce visible display flickering from PWM and temporal dithering.”
Source: betterdisplay.pro

DitheringSays the app acts on this

“Help reduce visible display flickering from PWM and temporal dithering.”
Source: betterdisplay.pro

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“Brightness, volume, and color control: Adjust displays through software controls, DDC, sliders, and keyboard shortcuts, including software dimming down to black.”
Source: github.com

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Mac menu bar app for display scaling, brightness and color control, DDC, virtual screens and extra XDR brightness. US$21.99, perpetual Pro license. Trial: 14 days. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

CareUEyesMac, WindowsUS$2.90/mo
PWMSays sodoes not introduce additional PWM flicker
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays sosoftware-based gamma controlSoftware
Blue lightSays soBlue light filtering

PWM flickerSays the app acts on this

“CareUEyes adjusts screen brightness through software-based gamma control, so it does not introduce additional PWM flicker.”
Source: care-eyes.com

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“CareUEyes adjusts screen brightness through software-based gamma control, so it does not introduce additional PWM flicker.”
Source: care-eyes.com

Blue lightSays the app acts on this

“Blue light filtering”
Source: care-eyes.com

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

Windows and Mac app with a blue light filter, software brightness control, break reminders and focus tools. US$2.90, per month, 1 PC. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

CircadianShieldOursMac, WindowsUS$27 once
PWMSays sodims in software for PWM sensitive eyes
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays soa software overlay does the dimmingSoftware
Blue lightSays soWarm at night, bright in the morning.

PWM flickerSays the app acts on this

“dims in software for PWM sensitive eyes”
Source: circadianshield.com

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“Hardware brightness stays high, where flicker is lowest, while a software overlay does the dimming.”
Source: circadianshield.com

Blue lightSays the app acts on this

“Your display color temperature adjusts automatically as the sun moves. Warm at night, bright in the morning.”
Source: circadianshield.com

Mac and Windows app that dims in software for PWM-sensitive eyes and shifts your display through the day. One-time price. US$27, one time (Core). Trial: 7 days (card required). Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

IrisMac, WindowsUS$1.99/mo
PWMSays socontrolling the brightness without PWM
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays souses the video card to reduce the luminanceSoftware
Blue lightSays soregulate blue light day and night

PWM flickerSays the app acts on this

“Iris optimizes screen pulsations by controlling the brightness without PWM.”
Source: iristech.co

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“Your second option is to use Iris which uses the video card to reduce the luminance of the screen.”
Source: iristech.co

Blue lightSays the app acts on this

“Iris will gradually regulate blue light day and night.”
Source: iristech.co

Desktop app that changes screen color temperature and lowers brightness in software, with presets for day and night use. US$1.99, per month, 1 PC. Trial: 7 days. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

ColorControlWindowsPrice not stated
PWMNot stated
DitheringSays sodefine the dithering mode (Temporal or Spatial)
BrightnessSays socontrol the SDR brightness setting
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

DitheringSays the app acts on this

“Dithering: you can define the dithering mode (Temporal or Spatial) and the dithering bit depth”
Source: github.com

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“HDR: toggle HDR and control the SDR brightness setting”
Source: github.com

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Open source Windows tool for NVIDIA and AMD display presets, including dithering mode, plus LG and Samsung TV control. Price not stated. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Apple Night ShiftMacBuilt in
PWMNot stated
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessNot stated
Blue lightSays somore yellow and less blue

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

Brightness

Not stated by the maker.

Blue lightSays the app acts on this

“Make the color temperature more or less warm when Night Shift is on. Warmer color temperatures show more yellow and less blue.”
Source: support.apple.com

Built in macOS setting that shifts display colors warmer after sunset on a schedule. Built into macOS. No price stated. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

DisplayBuddyMac, WindowsUS$24.99 once
PWMNot stated
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays soreal hardware brightness controlHardware
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“DisplayBuddy talks directly to your monitor over DDC. That means real hardware brightness control, not just dimming.”
Source: displaybuddy.app

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Paid Mac and Windows app that controls external monitor brightness, contrast, volume and input over DDC, with presets and schedules. US$24.99, one time, 1 Mac. Trial: Windows: free trial on the Microsoft Store; Mac: 7 day refund, no trial stated. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

f.luxMac, WindowsFree
PWMMentions only
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessMentions only
Blue lightSays sowarm at night and like sunlight during the day

PWM flickerMentions it, does not say the app changes it

“Some older monitors did not handle color changes well and would reset to white before accepting new settings.”
Source: justgetflux.com

Flicker comes up only as a troubleshooting topic, not as something the app reduces.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessMentions it, does not say the app changes it

“(But if you're on a laptop, you should mostly dim your backlight to keep contrast.)”
Source: justgetflux.com

Advice to use the laptop backlight, not an app feature.

Blue lightSays the app acts on this

“it makes the color of your computer's display adapt to the time of day, warm at night and like sunlight during the day.”
Source: justgetflux.com

Desktop app that warms the screen color after sunset and returns it to daylight color in the morning. US$0, personal use. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

LunarMacUS$23 once
PWMNot stated
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays souses DDC (Display Data Channel) to send commands like set brightness to 30%Hardware
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“Lunar uses DDC (Display Data Channel) to send commands like set brightness to 30% or switch input to HDMI 2 directly to the monitor.”
Source: lunar.fyi

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Mac menu bar app that controls external monitor hardware brightness over DDC, with automatic modes and extra dimming. US$23, lifetime license. Trial: 14 days. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

MonitorControlMacFree
PWMNot stated
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays socombined hardware and software dimmingHardware and software
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“Seamlessly combined hardware and software dimming extends dimming beyond the minimum brightness available on your display.”
Source: github.com

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Free open source Mac menu bar app that controls external display brightness, contrast and volume, with software dimming. US$0, free, MIT license. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

MonitorianWindowsFree
PWMNot stated
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays sochange the brightness of monitors, including external ones
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“The user can change the brightness of monitors, including external ones, either individually or in unison.”
Source: github.com

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Open source Windows tray tool that adjusts brightness of built in and DDC/CI external monitors, individually or together. US$0, free app, MIT license; paid add-ons in Microsoft Store. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

PangoBrightWindowsFree
PWMNot stated
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays soto dim your screen(s)
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“It has one job, and one job only: to dim your screen(s).”
Source: pangobright.com

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Free tiny Windows tray utility that dims the main screen and external monitors, made by a laser show software company. US$0, free. Status unclear: no recent release confirmed. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

StillcolorMacFree
PWMMentions only
DitheringSays sodisable GPU/DCP-generated temporal dithering
BrightnessNot stated
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flickerMentions it, does not say the app changes it

PWM is named only as something people are sensitive to. The app does not say it changes PWM.

DitheringSays the app acts on this

“Stillcolor allows you to disable GPU/DCP-generated temporal dithering from user space”
Source: github.com

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

Brightness

Not stated by the maker.

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Open source Mac menu bar app that turns off GPU generated temporal dithering on Apple silicon Macs. US$0, open source, MIT license. Status unclear: no recent release confirmed. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Twinkle TrayWindowsFree
PWMNot stated
DitheringNot stated
BrightnessSays somanage the brightness levels of multiple monitors
Blue lightNot stated

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

Dithering

Not stated by the maker.

BrightnessSays the app acts on this

“Twinkle Tray lets you easily manage the brightness levels of multiple monitors.”
Source: twinkletray.com

Blue light

Not stated by the maker.

Free open source Windows tray app with brightness sliders for laptop screens and DDC/CI external monitors. US$0, free, MIT license. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Windows Night lightWindowsBuilt in
PWMNot stated
DitheringMentions only
BrightnessMentions only
Blue lightSays soadjust the intensity of the blue light reduction

PWM flicker

Not stated by the maker.

DitheringMentions it, does not say the app changes it

“Even on displays that only support 8-bit color, auto color management helps to improve color quality by using different techniques, such as dithering.”
Source: support.microsoft.com

Windows says it adds dithering here. It does not say it removes it.

BrightnessMentions it, does not say the app changes it

“You might not see the Brightness slider on devices that have an external monitor. To change the brightness on an external monitor, use the buttons on it.”
Source: support.microsoft.com

For external monitors Microsoft points you to the monitor's own buttons.

Blue lightSays the app acts on this

“Move the Strength slider to adjust the intensity of the blue light reduction.”
Source: support.microsoft.com

Built in Windows 10 and 11 setting that shows warmer colors at night, with strength and schedule controls. Built into Windows. No price stated. Operating. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

15 apps. In their own words, 4 say they act on PWM flicker, 3 on dithering, 11 on brightness and 6 on blue light. Brightness is the common one; PWM and dithering are rare.

Monitors, in the maker's words

14 external monitors. A cell lights only where the maker's own page says it. The wording varies a lot: only AOC names a DC backlight, ASUS and Philips say their technology reduces flicker, LG's "Flicker Safe" is a brand term, and Apple states nothing. They are not the same claim.

MonitorTap a row for the full wording, source and specs.
Flicker wordingExact words from the maker's own product or spec page13 of 14 state something
CertificationCertificate text as the maker lists it6 of 14 list one
PriceOnly where the maker's own store shows it4 of 14 show one
AOC Q27P3CV27.0 inch, 2560x1440, IPS
Flicker wordingAOC Flicker-Free Technology utilises a DC (Direct Current) backlight panel, reducing flickering light levels.Names a DC backlight
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingNames a DC backlight

“AOC Flicker-Free Technology utilises a DC (Direct Current) backlight panel, reducing flickering light levels.”
Source: aoc.com

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27.0 inch, 2560x1440, IPS

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch QHD IPS USB-C monitor with 65W power delivery, USB hub, RJ45 and a height adjustable stand. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Apple Studio Display27-inch, 5120-by-2880
Flicker wordingNot stated
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wording

Not stated. The maker's page says nothing about flicker or dimming.

Page checked: apple.com

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27-inch, 5120-by-2880

Not shown on the maker's store.

Apple's 27 inch 5K display for Mac, with camera, mics and speakers built in. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

ASUS ProArt Display PA278CV27-inch, WQHD (2560 x 1440), IPS
Flicker wordingASUS Flicker-Free technology provides a more comfortable viewing experience and work environment by reducing on-screen flickerSays it reduces flicker
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingSays it reduces flicker

“ASUS Flicker-Free technology provides a more comfortable viewing experience and work environment by reducing on-screen flicker”
Source: asus.com

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27-inch, WQHD (2560 x 1440), IPS

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch WQHD IPS monitor for creative professionals, factory calibrated, with USB-C. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

BenQ GW2790QT27 inch, 2K QHD
Flicker wordingThe exclusive BenQ Flicker-Free Technology eliminates flickering at all brightness levelsSays it eliminates flicker, TÜV certificate listed
CertificationGlobal safety authority TÜV Rheinland certifies GW2790QT's Flicker-Free and Low Blue Light
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingSays it eliminates flicker, TÜV certificate listed

“The exclusive BenQ Flicker-Free Technology eliminates flickering at all brightness levels”
Source: benq.com

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

CertificationAs listed by the maker

“Global safety authority TÜV Rheinland certifies GW2790QT's Flicker-Free and Low Blue Light”

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

Specs and price

27 inch, 2K QHD

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch QHD USB-C monitor with an ergonomic stand, sold by BenQ as an eye-care home office monitor. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

BenQ RD280U28.2 inch, 3840x2560, IPS
Flicker wordingFlicker-free Technology: YesSpec sheet says yes, TÜV certificate listed
CertificationTUV Certificate: Eye Comfort 2.0, EyeSafe 2.0, Flicker-free, Low Blue light (Hardware Solution), Low Blue light (Software Solution), Reflection Free
Maker's priceUS$549.99

Flicker wordingSpec sheet says yes, TÜV certificate listed

“Flicker-free Technology: Yes”
Source: benq.com

CertificationAs listed by the maker

“TUV Certificate: Eye Comfort 2.0, EyeSafe 2.0, Flicker-free, Low Blue light (Hardware Solution), Low Blue light (Software Solution), Reflection Free”

Specs and price

28.2 inch, 3840x2560, IPS

US$549.99, one-time purchase. Source: benq.com

A 28.2 inch 3:2 programming monitor with a 3840x2560 IPS panel and coding display modes. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Dell Pro 27 Plus Monitor P2725H27 inch, 1920 x 1080, In-Plane Switching (IPS) technology
Flicker wordingFicker Free: YesSpec sheet says yes
CertificationTÜV Eye Comfort: Yes, 4-Star
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingSpec sheet says yes

“Ficker Free: Yes”
Source: dell.com

Spelling as on the maker's page.

CertificationAs listed by the maker

“TÜV Eye Comfort: Yes, 4-Star”

Specs and price

27 inch, 1920 x 1080, In-Plane Switching (IPS) technology

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch Full HD IPS office monitor in Dell's Pro line, TÜV 4-star eye comfort certified. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

EIZO FlexScan EV2740X27.0 inch, 3840 x 2160, IPS
Flicker wordingThe monitor utilizes a hybrid solution to regulate brightness and make flicker unperceivable without any drawbacks like compromising color stabilitySays flicker is made unperceivable
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingSays flicker is made unperceivable

“The monitor utilizes a hybrid solution to regulate brightness and make flicker unperceivable without any drawbacks like compromising color stability”
Source: eizo.com

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27.0 inch, 3840 x 2160, IPS

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch 4K USB-C office monitor with a hybrid brightness control EIZO says makes flicker unperceivable. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

GIGABYTE M27Q (Rev. 2.0)27", 2560 x 1440(QHD), SS IPS
Flicker wordingFlicker-free: YesSpec sheet says yes
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingSpec sheet says yes

“Flicker-free: Yes”
Source: gigabyte.com

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27", 2560 x 1440(QHD), SS IPS

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch QHD SS IPS gaming monitor with 165Hz refresh, KVM and USB-C. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

HP Series 5 Pro 27 inch QHD USB-C Monitor 527pu27-inch, QHD (2560 x 1440), IPS; LCD
Flicker wordingFlicker-free: YesSpec sheet says yes, TÜV certificate listed
CertificationTÜV Flicker free certified (listed under Certifications and compliances)
Maker's priceNZ$622.00 as shownUS price not verified

Flicker wordingSpec sheet says yes, TÜV certificate listed

“Flicker-free: Yes”
Source: hp.com

CertificationAs listed by the maker

“TÜV Flicker free certified (listed under Certifications and compliances)”

Specs and price

27-inch, QHD (2560 x 1440), IPS; LCD

NZ$622.00, one-time purchase. US price not verified. Source: hp.com

A 27 inch QHD IPS business monitor with 100W USB-C, daisy chain and HP Eye Ease low blue light. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Lenovo ThinkVision T27p-3027 inches, 3840 x 2160, 3-side NearEdgeless, In-Plane Switching
Flicker wordingTÜV Rheinland® Flicker FreeTÜV certificate listed
CertificationTÜV Rheinland® Eye Comfort Certification; TÜV Rheinland® Flicker Free; TÜV Rheinland® Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution); Eyesafe® Certified 2.0
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingTÜV certificate listed

“TÜV Rheinland® Flicker Free”
Source: psref.lenovo.com

CertificationAs listed by the maker

“TÜV Rheinland® Eye Comfort Certification; TÜV Rheinland® Flicker Free; TÜV Rheinland® Low Blue Light (Hardware Solution); Eyesafe® Certified 2.0”

Specs and price

27 inches, 3840 x 2160, 3-side NearEdgeless, In-Plane Switching

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch 4K IPS ThinkVision office monitor with TÜV flicker-free and low blue light certification. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

LG UltraFine 27US500-W27 inch, 3840 x 2160, IPS
Flicker wordingReader Mode and Flicker SafeBrand feature name only
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceUS$249.99

Flicker wordingBrand feature name only

“Reader Mode and Flicker Safe”
Source: lg.com

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27 inch, 3840 x 2160, IPS

US$249.99, one-time purchase. Source: lg.com

A 27 inch 4K UHD IPS monitor in LG's UltraFine line with a Reader Mode and LG's Flicker Safe feature. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Philips Brilliance 279P1B27 inch / 68.5 cm, 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz, IPS technology
Flicker wordingPhilips Flicker-free Technology applies a new solution to regulate brightness and reduce flicker for more comfortable viewing.Says it reduces flicker
CertificationTUV Eye Comfort certified
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingSays it reduces flicker

“Philips Flicker-free Technology applies a new solution to regulate brightness and reduce flicker for more comfortable viewing.”
Source: usa.philips.com

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

CertificationAs listed by the maker

“TUV Eye Comfort certified”

Specs and price

27 inch / 68.5 cm, 3840 x 2160 @ 60 Hz, IPS technology

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch 4K IPS USB-C docking monitor with Ethernet, PowerSensor and a SmartErgo stand. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

Samsung ViewFinity S8 S80UD 27" (LS27D802UANXGO)27, 4K (3,840 x 2,160), IPS
Flicker wordingFlicker Free: YesSpec sheet says yes
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceNot shown

Flicker wordingSpec sheet says yes

“Flicker Free: Yes”
Source: samsung.com

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27, 4K (3,840 x 2,160), IPS

Not shown on the maker's store.

A 27 inch 4K IPS monitor with USB-C 90W, LAN port, KVM switch and a height adjustable stand. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record

ViewSonic VG2756-4K27 Inch, 3840x2160, IPS
Flicker wordingEnhanced Viewing Comfort: Flicker-Free technology and Blue Light FilterNames the feature
CertificationNot stated
Maker's priceUS$449.99

Flicker wordingNames the feature

“Enhanced Viewing Comfort: Flicker-Free technology and Blue Light Filter”
Source: viewsonic.com

Quote shortened here; the maker's health wording is left out.

Certification

Not stated by the maker.

Specs and price

27 Inch, 3840x2160, IPS

US$449.99, one-time purchase. Source: viewsonic.com

A 27 inch 4K IPS docking monitor with 90W USB-C, Ethernet and an ergonomic stand. Checked 28 Sep 2026. Full record